midnight oh one

in the morning I shall wake with my husband still at my side. Tonight, for an hour, I lay on his sleeping form in the recliner like a backwards shadow (aura, highlight) reading. It fit. We shall retire at the same time, and wake together. Early afternoons are for the child. The evenings? Fuck em. I shall have him when he is fresh and laughing, before the day’s work. I appreciate tomorrow, the first day of second shift. My son will ask “is Daddy here?” when he opens his eyes, as usual, and eric will say “I am.”

Leave a Reply

